Jaja Jaja Jaja
Jaja Jaja Jaja
RES SEVERA VERUM GAUDIUM
G
D
DUO GUITARTES
Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth & Bernhard Dolch formed the D UO G UITARTES after the two of them had already enjoyed international success as soloists, numbering among the few German guitarists of their generation to win prizes in notable international competitions. They were awarded diplomas in the classes of Carlo Marchione, Joaquín Clerch and Tadashi Sasaki at the universities of Berlin (Hanns Eisler),
Munich, Duesseldorf and Maastricht. Above and beyond their university studies, they were taught by lutenist Paul O’Dette, guitarists Pepe Romero and Leo Brouwer, and Eberhard Feltz, mentor of the Kuss- and Vogler-Quartets. They have also made an intensive study of historically informed performance practice. D UO G UITARTES was founded out of their desire to leave the beaten track and make a serious contribution to expanding the repertoire for concert guitar. They work intensively at arranging both major and lesser known works of previous epochs for two guitars, in order to convey the vibrancy and emotional depth of this music in a historically informed manner, using the possibilities of modern instrumental technique to awaken it to new life. One of their major objectives has been to inspire and perform contemporary compositions, and several of today‘s most influential composers (including Joseph Phibbs, recently dubbed “one of the most successful composers of his generation” by BBC Music Magazine) have dedicated fascinating new works to D UO G UITARTES . In the course of their concert activity, they have performed in renowned concert halls like the Berliner Philharmonie and made numerous appearances at highly regarded chamber music festivals including O/Modernt (Sweden), the English Music Festival (UK), the Haydn Festival in Brühl (D) and the Havelland Music Festival (D). They have graced the programme at guitar festivals in Vienna, Berlin, Girona, Postojna, Zeven and Markneukirchen as well as performing at the Xi‘an Conservatory of Music (China), the University of Hull (UK) and the Musical Instrument Museum in Stockholm. For each new season, D UO G UITARTES is creating programmes devoted to ever changing musical themes such as “Baroque and Neoclassicism”, “Pre-Classical and High Baroque”, “Heaven and Earth music in the field of tension between spirituality and secualrity”, “Per aspera ad astra” … Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth and Bernhard Dolch both teach at the University in Cottbus (BTU) and have taught as visiting professors in Tianjin (China), Xi‘an (China) and Bangkok. Graduates from their classes have gone on to win international competitions in Europe and Asia.
G
D
DUO GUITARTES
RES SEVERA VERUM GAUDIUM
Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth & Bernhard Dolch formed the D UO G UITARTES after the two of them had already enjoyed international success as soloists, numbering among the few German guitarists of their generation to win prizes in notable international competitions. They were awarded diplomas in the classes of Carlo Marchione, Joaquín Clerch and Tadashi Sasaki at the universities of Berlin (Hanns Eisler), Munich, Duesseldorf and Maastricht. Above and beyond their university studies, they were taught by lutenist Paul O’Dette, guitarists Pepe Romero and Leo Brouwer, and Eberhard Feltz, mentor of the Kuss- and Vogler-Quartets. They have also made an intensive study of historically informed performance practice. D UO G UITARTES was founded out of their desire to leave the beaten track and make a serious contribution to expanding the repertoire for concert guitar. They work intensively at arranging both major and lesser known works of previous epochs for two guitars, in order to convey the vibrancy and emotional depth of this music in a historically informed manner, using the possibilities of modern instrumental technique to awaken it to new life. One of their major objectives has been to inspire and perform contemporary compositions, and several of today‘s most influential composers (including Joseph Phibbs, recently dubbed “one of the most successful composers of his generation” by BBC Music Magazine) have dedicated fascinating new works to D UO G UITARTES . In the course of their concert activity, they have performed in renowned concert halls like the Berliner Philharmonie and made numerous appearances at highly regarded chamber music festivals including O/Modernt (Sweden), the English Music Festival (UK), the Haydn Festival in Brühl (D) and the Havelland Music Festival (D). They have graced the programme at guitar festivals in Vienna, Berlin, Girona, Postojna, Zeven and Markneukirchen as well as performing at the Xi‘an Conservatory of Music (China), the University of Hull (UK) and the Musical Instrument Museum in Stockholm. For each new season, D UO G UITARTES is creating programmes devoted to ever changing musical themes such as “Baroque and Neoclassicism”, “Pre-Classical and High Baroque”, “Heaven and Earth music in the field of tension between spirituality and secualrity”, “Per aspera ad astra” … Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth and Bernhard Dolch both teach at the University in Cottbus (BTU) and have taught as visiting professors in Tianjin (China), Xi‘an (China) and Bangkok. Graduates from their classes have gone on to win international competitions in Europe and Asia.
Interview

Jaja Jaja Jaja
Jaja Jaja Jaja
RES SEVERA VERUM GAUDIUM
G
D
DUO GUITARTES
Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth & Bernhard Dolch gründeten das D UO G UITARTES , nachdem sie bereits als Solisten in- ternational erfolgreich waren. Sie zählen zu den wenigen deutschen Gitarristen ihrer Generation, die Preise bei bedeutenden interna- tionalen Wettbewerben erhielten. Diplome erwarben sie an den Hochschulen in Berlin (Hanns Eisler), München, Düsseldorf und Maastricht in den Klassen von
Carlo Marchione, Joaquín Clerch und Tadashi Sasaki. Über ihre Hochschulstudien hinaus wurden sie von dem Lautenisten Paul O´Dette, den Gitarristen Pepe Romero und Leo Brouwer, sowie von Eberhard Feltz, Mentor des Kuss- und Vogler-Quartettes, unterrichtet und widmeten sich eingehend dem Studium der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis. Das D UO G UITARTES gründeten sie aus dem Bedürfnis heraus, ausgetretene Pfade zu verlassen und dazu beizutragen, das Gitarren- Repertoire zu erweitern. Sie arbeiten intensiv daran, bedeutende wie auch kaum bekannte Kompositionen vergangener Epochen für zwei Gitarren so einzurichten, dass die enorme Lebendigkeit und emotionale Tiefgründigkeit dieser Musik auf historisch informierte Weise mit den Möglichkeiten moderner Instrumentaltechnik zu neuem Leben erweckt wird. Darüber hinaus ist es ihnen ein wichtiges Anliegen, zeitgenössische Kompositionen anzuregen und aufzuführen, so dass einige der erfolgreichsten Komponisten unserer Zeit - wie zuletzt Joseph Phibbs („one of the most successful composers of his generation“ - BBC Music Magazine) - dem D UO G UITARTES neue faszinierende Werke widmeten. Ihre Konzerttätigkeit führte sie unter anderem in die Berliner Philharmonie, auf zahlreiche Kammermusikfestivals wie O/Modernt (Schweden), English Music Festival (UK), das Haydn-Festival Brühl, die Havelländischen Musikfestspiele, die Gitarrenfestivals in Wien, Berlin, Girona, Postojna, Zeven und Markneukirchen, sowie die Musikhochschule Xi‘an (China), die University of Hull (UK) und das Musik- instrumenten Museum Stockholm. Das D UO G UITARTES konzipiert für jede Spielzeit Programme, die sich immer wieder neuen musikalischen Thematiken widmen, beispielsweise „Barock und Neoklassizismus“, „Vorklassik und Hochbarock“, „Heaven and Earth - Musik im Spannungsfeld zwischen Spiritualität und Weltlichkeit“, „Per aspera ad astra“ … Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth und Bernhard Dolch unterrichten an der Universität in Cottbus (BTU) , sie gaben Meisterkurse in Europa und lehrten als Gastdozenten bzw. Gastprofessoren in Tianjin (China), Xi‘an (China) und Bangkok. Aus ihren Klassen gingen Preisträger internationaler Wettbewerbe in Europa und Asien hervor.
G
D
DUO GUITARTES
RES SEVERA VERUM GAUDIUM
Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth & Bernhard Dolch gründeten das D UO G UITARTES , nachdem sie bereits als Solisten international erfolgreich waren. Sie zählen zu den wenigen deutschen Gitarristen ihrer Generation, die Preise bei bedeutenden internationalen Wettbewerben erhielten. Diplome erwarben sie an den Hochschulen in Berlin (Hanns Eisler), München, Düsseldorf und Maastricht in den Klassen von Carlo Marchione, Joaquín Clerch und Tadashi Sasaki. Über ihre Hochschulstudien hinaus wurden sie von dem Lautenisten Paul O´Dette, den Gitarristen Pepe Romero und Leo Brouwer, sowie von Eberhard Feltz, Mentor des Kuss- und Vogler-Quartettes, unterrichtet und widmeten sich dem Studium der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis. Das D UO G UITARTES gründeten sie aus dem Bedürfnis heraus, ausgetretene Pfade zu verlassen und dazu beizutragen, das Repertoire zu erweitern. Sie arbeiten intensiv daran, bedeutende wie auch kaum bekannte Kompositionen vergangener Epochen für zwei Gitarren so einzurichten, dass die enorme Lebendigkeit und emotionale Tiefgründigkeit dieser Musik auf historisch informierte Weise mit den Möglichkeiten moderner Instrumentaltechnik zu neuem Leben erweckt wird. Darüber hinaus ist es ihnen ein wichtiges Anliegen, zeitgenössische Kompositionen anzuregen und aufzuführen, so dass einige der erfolgreichsten Komponisten unserer Zeit - wie zuletzt Joseph Phibbs („one of the most successful composers of his generation“ - BBC Music Magazine) - dem D UO G UITARTES neue faszinierende Werke widmeten. Ihre Konzerttätigkeit führte sie unter anderem in die Berliner Philharmonie, auf zahlreiche Kammermusikfestivals wie O/Modernt (Schweden), English Music Festival (UK), das Haydn-Festival Brühl, die Havelländische Musikfestspiele, die Gitarrenfestivals in Wien, Berlin, Girona, Postojna, Zeven und Markneukirchen, sowie die Musikhochschule Xi‘an (China), die University of Hull (UK) und das Musik- instrumenten Museum Stockholm. Das D UO G UITARTES konzipiert für jede Spielzeit Programme, die sich immer wieder neuen musikalischen Thematiken widmen, beispielsweise „Barock und Neoklassizismus“, „Vorklassik und Hochbarock“, „Heaven and Earth - Musik im Spannungsfeld zwischen Spiritualität und Weltlichkeit“, „Per aspera ad astra“ … Anne-Kathrin Gerbeth und Bernhard Dolch unterrichten an der Universität in Cottbus (BTU) , sie gaben Meisterkurse in Europa und lehrten als Gastdozenten bzw. Gastprofessoren in Tianjin (China), Xi‘an (China) und Bangkok. Aus ihren Klassen gingen Preisträger internationaler Wettbewerbe in Europa und Asien hervor.
Interview